Casa Katy – Some of my favourite things

I’ve been in my little house now for over 7 months! That seems like such a long time, but I have to confess, it’s still a work in progress. With the nice weather, I’ve been focusing on my garden a lot, but that doesn’t mean to say I’ve neglected the rest of the house!

It’s funny how your priorities can soon shift. Before I got my little house, most of my spendies went on a combination of clothes, music and books. But beyond an outfit for the races and a bit of a sales-splurge in New Look (which was uncharacteristic anyway!), I’ve not spent that much on clothes (and to be honest, I need to…) Why? Because I would much, much rather spend money on Casa Katy!

These are some of my favourite things I’ve got for Casa Katy so far!

Dunelm, Dunelm Mill, arm chair
Dunelm chair in duck egg check
Dunelm curtains with duck egg blue print of bird and flowers on a beige background
Dunelm curtains with duck egg blue print of bird and flowers on a beige background; geometric outline of a stag, also Dunelm; candle holders, Yankee Candle; crystal stag, Next.
Nautical/beach theme: seaside huts, a gift; lantern, stall at Great Yorkshire Show; lighthouse, Dunelm
Nautical/beach theme: seaside huts, a gift; lantern, stall at Great Yorkshire Show; lighthouse, Dunelm
Blue and white zigzag rug, and blue rug, Cleggs at York; plaque, stall at Great Yorkshire Show; lantern, as before; washing up caddy, Garden Trading.
Blue and white zigzag rug, and blue rug, Cleggs at York; plaque, stall at Great Yorkshire Show; lantern, as before; washing up caddy, Garden Trading.

I try to steer away from too many posts like this, but I’ve been a little busy on my week off, so while this was meant to go up yesterday for #mystylewednesday, it never happened – apologies! I’m really pleased with how my house is coming together, and I’m trying to do it slowly, bit by bit.

I love my nautical theme in my bathroom. My idea is to paint the walls a sea-green or a navy blue, and to try and get a few more themed bits and bobs. I had seen a cool little shelf in the shape of a boat that would have gone perfectly, but it was in a bric-a-brac shop that I couldn’t get to in time. Still keeping my eyes peeled.

I love independent shops; so much of my stuff comes mass-produced from Dunelm. One day I would love to be able to afford bespoke curtains and furniture, handmade rather than in a factory, but right now, I have to go with what I can afford – and what I like, too. Sometimes buying fairtrade or locally made is all good and well, but if I don’t like it, buying it purely on principle is a waste of money. A lot of the things in my house are what my grandad made, or furniture that we already had and that my mum has painted and reupholstered, so I think I’m relatively good at reusing and repurposing things. One of my favourite things is of course my desk, and that came from a second-hand furniture shop in Malton.

I love my two rugs: the zigzag one sits in the middle of my front room and the dark blue one is upstairs partially covering the minging “green grass” carpet in the little bedroom. They came from Cleggs in York, which is a cool little shop just through the city walls on Goodramgate. I definitely recommend! It’s a fun eclectic shop with loads of different things; Mum bought some lovely Mediterranean/Asian-style lanterns for tea lights, with coloured glass. To be quite honest I could spend a fortune in there; they have lovely scarves and lots of gorgeous leather bags, and the shop owner is a nice friendly fellow.

Hope you enjoyed a little demo of my favourite things!

Leave a Reply

