Windy Farm – The DSLR Chronicles

Frosts, Greenhouses, and a new Picture-Taking Device…

Good evening all! Well, it’s evening here in the UK – but hello to one and all, wherever you are!

I’ve had not a very good week. I’ve had a terrible mind-numbing earache all week, so bad that it drove me to the surgery (and this is major, since I tend to lean towards the mindset that you should only go to the doctors’ surgery if you are in a serious situation, and not for a little sniffle or what-have-you), after much to-ing and fro-ing from dismissive pharmacy assistants and jarringly cheerful nurse practitioners.

My car has also been playing up. The Flying Banana is no longer flying! Its get-up-and-go got up and went! A mystery light came up on the dash, and then it wouldn’t build any revs or speed, and I wasn’t about to chug up and down hills for 35 miles with an iffy engine. And now it’s in surgery and I, the girl with three cars, is stranded. A pedestrian!! Unthinkable.

Then it came a hard frost over night. Look at my greenhouse!

25.3.15 A frosty morning

However a package arrived on Tuesday which cheered me up endlessly.

I bought a new camera!

Those of you who may recall my post about the Quest of Week Three (find it here: https://notmuchofayoungfarmer.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/minimalist-march-quest-of-week-three/) will remember that I have been searching for my camera for, like, ever! Since I have decided that my role as designated photographer-slash-camera-provider may have, unintentionally and unwittingly, provided somebody with a camera bounty after a night out, a new camera was in order. I use my iPhone but, let’s be honest, the quality is serious iffy.

So I went on tord ‘Bay and had a nosy. I’d heard of these mysterious ‘DSLR’ cameras before, raved about on every single blog and on every Pinterest pin about ‘how to make your blog better’, so I searched for DSLR cameras, looked at the ones ending on Sunday, decided I liked the Canon EOS one, was outbid on two (and went into a consequential rage because of being outbid), my Daddy then found me a buy-it-now, and so I did, and it came yesterday!

I am in love. The photos are amazing! I think I’ll end up looking at my iPhone photos with such derision and contempt now.

Here are some I took this morning!

A little lonely cauliflower... a lot of them seem to have been badly affected by frost!
A little lonely cauliflower… a lot of them seem to have been badly affected by frost!
The "Dutch" tomatoes and peppers, living in the utility room.
The “Dutch” tomatoes and peppers, living in the utility room.
Some onions... wow, the DSLR really shows up the green coming on the compost!
Some onions… wow, the DSLR really shows up the green coming on the compost!
My Ailsa Craig onions.
My Ailsa Craig onions.
Lots of little guys poking up here in my salad starters!
Lots of little guys poking up here in my salad starters!
Tomatoes that, unlike the Gardener's Delight, have resisted the cold - despite being uncovered overnight!
Tomatoes that, unlike the Gardener’s Delight, have resisted the cold – despite being uncovered overnight!

Ooooh, I’m ever so pleased! Expect a lot more photographs now folks!

It’s about to get serious!

I hope you all enjoy.

Katy

x

2 thoughts on “Windy Farm – The DSLR Chronicles

  1. Your plants (seedlings) are looking wonderful and the pictures are great with your new camera ,,, Enjoy .. and look forward to many more pictures of your garden..

    Take care and happy gardening to ya, from Laura ( Northern Canada)

    1. Thanks for your lovely words Laura! Mine are catching up with how yours looked a few months ago haha! Though we had a bit of a frost and some tomatoes don’t look good… But I’ll persevere! Take care now

Leave a Reply

