Sunday Roast Dinner for Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day, all! Today in the UK it has been Mothering Sunday. Rather than take my Mum and Nana out to a pub for a roast dinner that would most likely have a couple of extra squids stuck on the end, I said I would cook us a lovely roast dinner. And so this is what happened!

I can’t remember the last time I made a roast dinner. My father has a violent disposition against roast beef, particularly topside. If we ever have a roast, we have either pork or chicken at home, and while I don’t mind either of those, beef is my all time favourite. So for this Mother’s Day Mum and I spent about fifteen minutes deliberating over which joint of beef would be best (and my Mum is a butcher’s daughter) since we didn’t know the difference between topside and silverside.

I did roast beef for Mum, Nana and I, and a chicken crown for Dad. For veggies I got some swede and carrots, and we had some Brussels sprouts bouncing around too. And of course I did Yorkshire puddings!

Our friends Andy and Jo had come to visit on Saturday and had brought their Shar Pei puppy, Daisy. Jo had said that the beef they had had not so long since had taken much less cooking than the label had said and had wound up overdone and tough. We were worried ours might be the same; rather than cook it for the hour and twenty minutes advised, we did it for an hour and it was be-oo-ti-ful!

Veggies boiling away. I think next time I might be more adventurous. Then look at those Yorkshire puds!
Veggies boiling away. I think next time I might be more adventurous. Then look at those Yorkshire puds!
A lump of beef and father's chicken! And plated up - looks pretty good to me!
A lump of beef and father’s chicken! And plated up – looks pretty good to me!

We have plenty left over so I can have beef sandwiches at work – that’s the best part of a roast!

I’m absolutely full now! Had a very lovely day – but the weekends go by so quickly! Poldark is over, Sunday is nearly over. Monday tomorrow – back to it!

Hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend.

Katy

x

Leave a Reply

