Sunday Night Dinner

Hello bloggers! 

Now I know what you’re thinking – Sunday dinner? Roast chicken, Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes, veggies… Wait a minute. Now that’s your traditional Sunday dinner. But at Windy Farm I decided to mix it up a bit.

I found this recipe on Pinterest and made it last night!

Please check out the original recipe here:

http://www.tasteloveandnourish.com/2014/10/03/coq-au-vin-blanc/

I thought the picture looked to die for! I’ve made a normal coq au vin, with red wine, a few times with Mum and it’s always been really lovely. The thing that drew me to this one was the lightness that the white wine would give to it. So I decided to make it this weekend, and it became our Sunday tea!

I mixed it up a little bit, and used my Pampered Chef stone baker. I love my stone baker – I’m trying to use it a lot more. I used thigh pieces, only half a bottle of wine, home-grown red onions (that I’d found in my raised bed as I was digging it over – oops!), button and chestnut mushrooms and some carrot. I served it with garlicky crushed potatoes and spring onions, with some cabbage.

It was delish!

Then I made this very cool picture on Fotor, which I’ve only just discovered:

A Coq Au Vin Blanc in 8 steps! Very easy and very scrummy. Perfect Sunday dinner!
A Coq Au Vin Blanc in 8 steps! Very easy and very scrummy. Perfect Sunday dinner!
  1. Fry off some bacon lardons. I used lardons and a rasher of smoky bacon. When fried, put aside – I put it straight into my stone baker. No fat was added, except what was on the bacon!
  2. Preheat the oven to 180/350. Chop up some mushrooms, carrot and onions/shallots.
  3. Brown off the chicken.
  4. Put it on top of the lardons.
  5. In the fatty frying pan, add the mushrooms. I’m not a mega mushroom fan (I do find them slimy and greasy) but in a dish like this, where they’re hidden in a sauce, I don’t mind them at all.
  6. Add the carrot and onion to the mushrooms. Crush some garlic (I used my Pampered Chef garlic crusher. Gosh this is like a Pampered Chef advert! I’m even using a Pampered Chef wooden spoon!) and chuck that in. Then pour in as generous a glug (i.e. half a bottle) of white wine! Bring to a simmer, then add some chicken stock. I did quite a good bit of stock – about 300ml.
  7. Pour all that onto the chicken & bacon. Then stick in the oven. Cook for… ooh, mine was in there about an hour.
  8. Meanwhile, get on with your co-stars! I peeled and boiled lots of big white potatoes, finely chopped some springies, crushed some garlic, and mashed them loosely with some butter and cream. I boiled some savoy cabbage without wilting it to oblivion. Serve piping hot with the remainder of the wine! Scrummy!

So that was my version of Coq au Vin Blanc a la Katy! Please give it a try – it was really easy and really tasty.

Let me know how you get on!

Katy

x

2 thoughts on “Sunday Night Dinner

Leave a Reply

