Christmas Roulade

Another retrospective post!

I have lots of traditions at Christmas: not only do I make the starters, and fail to decorate the Christmas cake, but I also make a chocolate roulade. When I was at school, I used to decorate a shop-bought swiss roll in about an inch of chocolate buttercream! Mmm heaven! The past few years however this has developed into a chocolate roulade.

Here’s a pic of last year’s…

IMG_0292

Somehow, I always end up with quite deep fissures along the ‘bark’, but I suppose that just adds to the rustic ‘fallen log’ image. And let’s not forget that I won the roulade category in this year’s Horticultural Show, with one perfectly rounded end, and one that was a bit, erm, triangular!

I follow Mary Berry’s recipe, from the Bake-Off, though I have been hunting for a method to stop the cracks in the rolling process. After lengthy googling, I found an interesting theory, which involved rolling it up – while warm, sans filling of course – in a tea towel and bunging it in the oven to ‘remember’ its curl. Sounds logical right?

Well, it was, until half of the roulade broke off.

Devastation central!

After some tears, and some laughter, and then some serious expletives aimed at a website that had done me over, I filled it anyway, whacked the broken layer on top, and dusted it with icing sugar.

IMG_0686Anyway, it tasted gorgeous! Even if it was rocking a slightly more dilapidated ‘fallen log’ look – maybe a ‘hit by lightning’ look?

Katy

x

 

Leave a Reply

