The Lark Ascending: My Favourite Piece of Classical Music

I am so pleased to discover that my favourite piece of classical music, The Lark Ascending by Vaughan Williams, was voted #1 in the Classic FM Hall of Fame – and I didn’t even know about it to vote!

http://www.theguardian.com/music/2014/apr/27/first-world-war-inspired-the-lark-ascending-favourite-classical-music

http://halloffame.classicfm.com/2014/chart/position/1/

From about 11 minutes onwards is my favourite part. The soaring orchestra always bring tears to my eyes!

A lot of people call this a cozy rural piece, but I think for me there are some truly sad moments in it, and yet some beautiful celebratory passages.

Simply the best 15 minutes of your life!

Leave a Reply

