The Watering Can Fairy! – The Raised Bed Diaries #7

We went away on holiday for a week to the Nurburgring in Germany, and I spent all holiday worrying about my crops, especially the ones in the cloche. However, it seems like the watering can fairy has struck, and some kind soul has watered my plants!

In the last post, I showed how a courgette was gently peeping out. The hotel we stayed at in Germany had its own little vegetable patch and a polytunnel, so I was dead nosy about that. They were only growing herbs in the polytunnel. Every time I saw the veg patch, I got all angsty about mine. At the end of our holiday, I was mega sad to leave (it’s always that bittersweet feeling of wanting to go home and have normal stuff for breakfast rather than hard bread, and staring out at the great yawning gap from now till the next holiday) but excited – and apprehensive – to see what had happened to my plants.

They’ve exploded! A huge flurry of growth seems to have happened while I’ve been away. I don’t know if it’s just the absence that makes them look so much bigger, but I’m sure they’ve put on a bit of a growth spurt.

IMG_1213

IMG_1210

IMG_1202

I’ve had to repot my broccoli because they had outgrown the little pots. These broccoli plants are monstrous, they’re outgrowing the pots faster than I can pot them out. I need to find somewhere for them to be planted out.

IMG_1208

But the real victory story here…I left for Germany with one courgette – I’ve come back with seven!

IMG_1212

So I’ve repotted them in individual pots. And two more courgettes are coming through, which is amazing considering I thought I’d killed them all.

My salad leaves, spinach, beetroot and radishes all look grand. I think I’m going to plant out my radishes and see how they fair.

Overall, I’m so pleased nothing died! Everything seems to have flourished so much while I’ve been gone, maybe I should leave them alone more often? I hope it’s not a reflection on me! Now to find the watering can fairy……

Leave a Reply

