Destination Nurburgring Playlist #3

I’ve been updating my playlist. Only a few days to go to make final arrangements! Last year it was definitely more of an electro/dancey mix, whereas this year I am mixing it up a fair bit. I want enough to not repeat a song from the ferry to the Ring. Here are a few choice examples that I’m loving atm!

 

Queens of the Stone Age – Go With the Flow

Whenever I listen to QOTSA’s Lullabies to Paralyze, it always makes me think of the Need for Speed game which featured two songs on the soundtrack, however I think Go With the Flow is the superior driving song/accelerating song. I think this was the first QOTSA song I heard, way back when on Kerrang, and it sounds pretty darn good blasting out of Dickie’s speakers.

Carrie Underwood – Good Girl

Switching genres about today! I’m not a big country fan but I heard this Carrie Underwood song and was hooked. I downloaded Blown Away and while her ballady stuff is OK but not exactly my cup of tea, I love her rockier stuff, and whilst this isn’t heavy on the guitars, it’s a good tune, and there’s a lot of Carrie on my playlist!

Jimmy Eat World – The Middle

One of my favourite indie dance tunes, I don’t really know any of the lyrics but I like to make them up. I always think Dickie should have an indie/dance crossover theme tune, and this sounds rather good.

Iron Maiden – The Trooper

Not really a decent Dickie driving song, but it came on my iPod on my way to work the other day, and it was just funny! I’m not a big Maiden fan, but this was on the credits to Metal Evolution, the TV documentary on Sky Arts a while back, and is damn catchy. My Mum was a Maiden fan (a Maiden Maiden??) back in the day, so I wonder if she’ll recognise this song when it comes on t’ord iPod!

Stratovarius – Unbreakable

And to round off the slightly more diverse sound this time round, we have a band I’ve only recently gotten into. I think people are always quite surprised when I say I like metal music, when I can get down to Ke$ha like the best of them. Two of my favourite bands ever are Nightwish and Epica, but I’ve been hearing of Stratovarius since forever, and after having a bit of a barney with iTunes, I got the new Stratovarius CD, Nemesis. This song, Castles in the Air and One Must Fall are my favourites!

I hope you enjoy! Quite a mixed bunch of driving songs for this second playlist. As per usual, nothing belongs to me nor do I claim it does, I just love the music, and wanted to share the love!

Leave a Reply

